Essay – Pale and Process

One of the more unique aspects of being where I’m at, in my specific position and time, is that I’m transfixed between two ideas that feel like they get mythologized a bit – or at the very least they’re real things that get used as such wide umbrellas to explain something, that they aren’t very useful.  They don’t feel to me as though they explain where I’m at, anyway.

Some users were saying “Wildbow’s clearly going through a midlife crisis“.

And I’ve run into the term writers block on top of that, in reference to how I went down to one chapter a week.

To me, the first doesn’t apply- I’m similar to Verona in that I don’t put a lot of stock in the usual life path, (no interest in marriage, minimal interest in dating- will date if someone approaches me, no interest in kids), I don’t feel as if my life’s running out.  I want to do the things I enjoy, and a big part of that is writing, or at least creating.

The second conceit has been a bit of an issue, and gets more at the topic of this post.  ‘Writer’s block’.  When my writing slowed down, I went looking for professionals.  Two therapists, one career counselor.  There were some regular hassles- I researched people who might be able to help me, found one that seemed good (dealt with work stress, productivity and burnout, among other things), and rather than assign me to him, their office assigned me to a sex abuse therapist who works in the same clinic.  The second guy had a terrible connection.  With the two where I got any headway, I put forward my situation, and ran aground on the very idea of writers block.  The career counselor said “I don’t know much about writing or writers block” and I couldn’t seem to convey, you know, “Okay, but if this was any work other than writing, and I was having issues with productivity, what would you say?”

That’s where I first started thinking of writers block as something mythologized.  Or something painted as so broad and encompassing of any writing issue that it’s almost dismissive.

My inclination is more that writer’s block is a catch-all term used to describe a varied set of problems – not having inspiration, not having motivation, not having time, being discouraged, losing attachment to a story, having a process that doesn’t take you to the end, getting caught up on a snarl or plot point and not knowing how to get past… I’ve seen people ascribe all of these things to ‘writers block’, in media or writing groups.

So it was frustrating to reach out to professionals who might help me explain and work through the downturn in my writing and run up against this nebulous idea.  Does any other career have something like it?

I know people will say you can’t expect one magic word or idea to fix things, but in the past, that’s very much what’s happened for me.  But let me step back.  Writing this as an essay gives me some freedom to talk more about my creative process.

Back when I was 13, I started writing “City of Woe” and as I described in the APU2 livestream, it was an angsty equivalent to punching a pillow, being mean to my characters, writing the sort of cringe-inducing stuff a hormonal 13 year old writes.  I was inspired by Buffy’s ‘The Pack’ episode, where Xander gets possessed and finds a friend group that automatically accepts him, I liked that, I wrote ghouls.  Also wrote a demonic possession story and a vampire story (though sometimes the vampire one was folded into the ghoul one).

The writing process, turned into a graphic, would’ve looked like this:

A calendar marked with color-indicated intensity favoring Sundays and Thursdays, tapering off on other days.

Where the color intensity marks the effective writing- in this case favoring the days I’m consuming related media and tapering off.  Writing that way, I got to 40k-80k words multiple times before restarting each time.  It was enough to fill a book, even though none of the stories even made it that far plotwise, past the characters whining and transforming and figuring out powers.  I could do that in the course of a couple weeks.

Cool, great.  Except over my teenage years and early 20s, I stalled.  Before I was 18 I hit the point where I couldn’t get past a few pages:

Or, putting it into words, less intensity in the intense moments, tapering off faster.  Until I settled into something that looked more like this:

One night of writing, where I didn’t make as much forward progress, maybe one struggling attempt to pick a story idea up again, but I’d falter.  I tried to stay productive and in a way, practiced mindfulness by doing postmortems, where I’d do title pages for each with notes on the story, would change up the stories I wrote to write from different perspectives, and tried to see if I could find a working story that way.  I covered a lot of ground and conceptualized a lot of characters I eventually put into Worm or Pact in one form or another, but I ended up with a graveyard of stories that I couldn’t seem to get off the ground.

Very frustrating, to have the will but not have the words come.  If I hadn’t had the early success of writing full novels worth of stuff (of garbage), I would have simply thought that writing was too hard and given up.  The thing was, I knew I could put out more words.

At 26, I was (still) in University, I was taking classes on applied language and discourse.  Not about learning a specific language like French, or linguistics, to get into the nitty gritty of a language, but more broadly looking into the who, what, where, when and why of language.  How do you learn a new language?  How best do you teach it?  How does one pick up the necessary lingo for a profession or a particular role in society?  What goes into writing a professional email?  What about language and power?  What about what isn’t said?  Textual silences.

In the course of taking those classes I stumbled on the idea that helped me pull things together.  In an article talking about how students should best approach an essay for school, the notion of getting to the finish line first came up.

That’s one of those times a single sentence or idea totally unlocked something for me.

Not stated, but easy to pick up on once you grasp that, was the idea that something that was okay but finished is better than something forever unfinished.  That poked at my brain, because I’ve always hated when a work I’m enjoying dies without resolution.  I started writing serials, figuring the schedule would force me to keep working.  And it worked.  I went from being unable to get to 1000 words to writing a couple million.

What ended up happening was that the deadline was a huge factor.  As I wrote closer to the deadline, the writing would ramp up, to the point there was a peak right before I hit the deadline.

Which formed a comfortable routine.  Wake up in the morning, make tea, review past works, get underway a few hours after getting my head sorted, and then start writing…

If I got stumped, I’d take a shower, use shower thoughts to help work through any snarls, or make a meal, return strong, and with the deadline mounting, frantically finish.  I’d be writing 1000+ words an hour in the last few hours, helped by the fact I was tying up threads and drawing things to a conclusion.  Then I’d review feedback, fix typos, and then sleep.

This was pretty workable, and once I settled into it, it was what I maintained for a long time.

If anyone’s had that school assignment that felt impossible to get done in time, where they got into the zone and managed a thousand words of passable writing in the last few hours before finishing just before the deadline, that was it.  Twice or thrice a week, for years.  It worked for me, and in the off days, I could attend to community stuff, do chores, shop, clean up, etc.

People would say “Wildbow, take a break, take a vacation”, and while I recognized that maybe it’d help me get wider perspective and give me time to think (see my ‘Beyond the Pale’ post from a week and a half ago), I didn’t feel a pressing need.  I had two mini-vacations a week, or one longer one if I didn’t have an extra material or third chapter, it was a comfortable writing pace, I didn’t feel drained.

Really, the only obstacle was stuff like holidays or family pressures, and I moved away from immediate family pressures in late 2014.  That didn’t mean I wouldn’t have bad weeks, but they were more due to insomnia and other stuff.  In the course of writing Twig, I got okay at writing even during the bad health patches.

Along the way, though, and this is key: there’d occasionally be a period where I’d hit a deadline, have just a few thousand more words I wanted to write to bring a chapter to being ‘done’, and then I’d go past the deadline…

…and that would become the new deadline, in my subconscious.  From midnight on the dot to half past midnight, now.  Try as I might to reel it in, that sense of self-imposed pressure just didn’t recognize what I wanted, I subconsciously knew that if I went a half hour over, I’d be okay.  Which meant, when I went an hour over, as days went on, I could sit down to write, and the writing ‘energy’ wouldn’t happen until an hour later.  I could try writing, but words wouldn’t flow, I’d get stuck.

I sort of made the decision that if a chapter needed an extra hour, I’d give it that, because I’d rather write something I was happy with than force something that I wasn’t happy with.  In that way, over weeks and weeks, the schedule slipped by hours, then a couple days.

Except in summer 2022, everything went to shambles.

Edited to add this: graph courtesy of Coro on the Doof Discord.

I wanted to see family.  I had a new niece I wanted to meet, it meant catching a plane, and I figured family should be a priority.  I told myself that if there was a need, if the plane was a disaster, if there was a dinner or something that would pull me away from the keyboard, okay.

That’ll be fine.  If need be… maybe I take a week off.  People were cool and encouraging about that in the discord and stuff.

I didn’t end up taking a week off.  I did get sick despite a mask and covid precautions, just a cold, but just the fact I’d told myself I could take time off ended up killing that tension entirely.

That ramp-up as I get closer to the deadlines stopped happening entirely, so I wasn’t getting 1000 words in the hours just before/after the deadline.  I was stuck at a couple hundred words an hour at best.  No flow, which meant it took days longer, which meant it was harder to join ideas together, because the time I wrote that one bit in the first quarter of the chapter could’ve been days ago, and the bit in the last chapter was a week ago.

Is this writer’s block?

I think I knew subconsciously that this would happen if I took a break.  Even just for-real entertaining idea of possibly allowing myself some slack on the schedule around family stuff?  Left me nothing but slack.  Pushing slack rope.

In a way, it’s really frustrating, because I’m spending twice as long and twice the effort writing to get as far as I used to.  I have less free time, less energy, and a lot of frustration.  It reminds me of the teenage years, where I know I can write more, but the writing eludes me.

It’s subconscious, too, and in the various things I’ve tried, like tricking myself, giving myself incentives, giving myself punishments, trying to get back into old routines and headspaces, I did find one thing that worked a bit in generating tension.

“Wildbow,” I told myself.  “You can only get a full night’s sleep if you get this done.  1.5 hour naps allowed, maximum.”

You know what’s really unhealthy?  Getting 4 hours of sleep across two nights a week because the only way to generate tension and get some ramp-up/some way of getting ‘into the zone’ was denying myself sleep.  For months on end.  I’m approaching 40 and I do not have it in me to do that in any big way for longer.

So the question becomes, I guess, how do I recreate the tension of the deadline, when people are so nice and I can’t trick my subconscious?

A part of me was hoping I could, in framing things here, sort of settle on an answer.  A big reason I wrote this essay, even: that dim hope that I’d get 75% of the way through, figure something out, and tie that into the conclusion.  No such luck.  I do think I have the problem sorted in my head, but the solution eludes me.

Tried talking to professionals, and ran aground on the very unhelpful preconceptions and mythology around writers block.  I do intend to start looking again once I get myself moved, but there wasn’t a magic word or easy solution that helped things to ‘click’.

I do have ideas, which involve going back to basics.  When I started Worm, I had a backlog, chapters pre-written as a safety net, and I’m thinking that a backlog going into two (shorter than Pale’s) chapters a week might help produce the momentum I’m looking for.  Can I then, moving into writing chapters for the story proper, carry that momentum forward?  That is something I think I connect to and I could see it working.

There’s also trying to change up process more.  What if I stopped ‘gardening’ (writing by the seat of my pants) and wrote with more of an outline?  It could be an experiment to do with a shorter story.  Feels less exciting to me, personally, where I usually enjoy being surprised by what the story churns up.  That said, if the tradeoff is that I know what I’m going to write, it could mean less points where I stall and wonder what I’ll do, a focus of energy into the margins between the stuff that’s outlined (dialogue, etc.), and a change-up that makes my subconscious lack of tension feel more tension, because I’m going against the grain a bit and that’s harder.

And, I should say, maybe I’ll go back to some elements of worldbuilding and character building, and digging into the personal, digging more into what I’ve done in the past, seeing if I can recapture the positive points of energy from prior stories.  What did I do when writing Taylor or writing the Kennet Trio that made the stories flow like they did for me?  Because that did play a part in things.

Which would be the topics for the essays next week and the week after.

31 thoughts on “Essay – Pale and Process

  1. This is a really interesting read as someone who has also attempted to write (and now just most sticks to writing fic) and has been baffled by your wordcounts for as long as I have known how much you turn out. Writer’s block, along with any other suffering in the creative field has always been so weirdly talked about, almost as if it’s some mystical thing and not just like any other frustration. Anyways, thanks. For this essay & all your other writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting read. Helps me reflect on my own battle with wanting to do things, obligations, hobbies, and trying to force myself through, like you said, little rewards and punishments. Thanks Bow.

    Like

  3. This is a cool read and I can relate I’ma superficial manner. I did lots (too much, probably) of Play-by-Email Star Trek sims and forum RP in my high school and college years. I churned out veritable mountains of text! Tried a story once. It was garbage. Turns out I love world building more than characters.

    Now, though? Trying to write bits and bobs for a game session feels a bit much sometimes. Oh, I still love it and Hyperfocus makes it work, but I understand both the high of “I can write for days!” and the low of “Huh. Okay, fingers, make words go… please?”

    I think you’ve encapsulated (or un-encapsulated? broken out?) the idea of writer’s block very well. It’s not just one thing. Not for every use of the word or even for just one instance of it. Burnout, lack of drive, lack of creativity… they’re all in there to varying degrees and they just get lumped together as if they’re one giant, mystical problem that each person has to solve for themselves.

    But creating is a job and a process, same as anything else. Can you sit down and just Go? Maybe, but I bet if something is missing from the equation, you pull it from a different part of your Self. I’m helping my wife struggle with burnout after teaching math (which she loves and is fantastic at) for twenty years. The same things that I watched her seemingly effortlessly create a decade ago take days now as we figure out where the problems are and try new things to get around them.

    I’m sorry you ran into such issues with the therapists and counselors. Oof. Is good to have somebody to hold a mirror up to your thoughts and give an outside/professional opinion, but a cracked or scuffed mirror can be frustrating.

    I would think that maybe a backlog could help. Especially as it lets you set a goal like “backlog must have ten chapters” and then shoot for fifteen or twenty. Maybe lets you focus more on the fun, weird little extras.

    Like the little Yous in the timeline. They are rather adorable. Nom. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So it was frustrating to reach out to professionals who might help me explain and work through the downturn in my writing and run up against this nebulous idea. Does any other career have something like it?

    So, I don’t know about professional counsoulors and nebulous ideas…. but the concept of “Writers block” (big quotes), and the sort of… million and one hidden underlying ideas behind it definitely feels like something that crops up in research. Or at least… having done both research and writing, there is a reasonable amount of overlap in terms of the problems, (and occasionally solutions).

    Both subjects are very much “stare at the blank page until your eyes bleed” some days, and “pour ideas out as ink” on other days.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve run into a similar thing lately in a very different context – I’ve been organizing my workplace over the last few years, and between the inherent challenges involved, other organizers going through their own stuff, etc, it’s been difficult, to the point that union stuff getting done has often depended on me feeling responsible and refusing to give myself any slack and pushing myself to do more than I really have capacity for, to the detriment of other areas of my life.

    And it’s just, like, this thing where what I’m doing isn’t healthy or sustainable but I have trouble bringing myself to stop because the results have been good, it’s been getting stuff done that needed to be done, and I feel like I’ll be letting people down if I dial back my involvement and things go south as a result. Like, I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished, but I worry that at root it’s all too dependent on me or someone like me being mentally unhealthy in this very specific way and, to put it in P-verse terms, burning more Self than they really have to burn.

    I wish I had some tidy denouement to put here about how I’ve solved this issue or how you could solve yours, but… I dunno. I’ve been trying to step back more, not do more than I can do, and focus on easing others into running things, accepting there’ll be some hiccups along the way – but that’s all pretty specific to a collective endeavor (as opposed to writing in a format like yours, which is generally much more of a one-person show), and in any case it’s too soon to know how it’s gonna turn out. Maybe I’ll regret abdicating responsibility as much as I have, in the end.

    Not sure where I’m going with this, exactly, other than to say that I’ve personally decided that I can’t keep going on in a way that’s bad for me, even though that’s what’s ‘worked’ in the past and I don’t totally know yet how to make something else work in the future, and I think it’s good that you seem to be making some version of that decision as well. Good luck with it all.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Coming back to this sober, I had a thought from a different direction – in my grad program we had these weekly thesis writing groups (which weren’t at all about collaborative writing – they were more along the lines of “we’re all gonna buy some snacks and meet up and work on our separate things at the same time and place”). This can be more or less productive depending on the group, but, if it’s feasible in your circumstances, it might be one thing to consider in trying to build a workflow that has some structure to it without relying on deadline stress.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved the drawings.
    Wildbow – I’d think about considering the option this is a medical condition – Long Covid has cognitive symptoms as well; I personally found myself suffering a lot after getting it and it’s still difficult to say what can be said to be it’s effect.
    I hope you find what works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It doesn’t sound too far off from my understanding of executive dysfunction, with tension / pressure being how you push yourself to get started. It’d line up with how once you’ve gotten moving, you stay moving, and with how the pressure helps you start, and with how the lack of accountability (people being chill) contributes to the issue.

    I’m not that knowledgeable on it or anything, it’s just the term people have thrown at me when I’ve spoken about my own motivation issues / issues around work and it seems to make some sense for me, so thought I’d throw it back out as something to consider, or as another term to use besides writers block when seeking support.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actual Executive Dysfunction are the people who struggle to boil water for tea. It’s a real, bad, mental disorder that is what people actually mean with “Attention Deficit Disorder” — when you lack enough attention to finish even simple “ordered” tasks.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I heard in the end these symptoms’ expression is continuous between humans, so there can be cases when the dysfunction is not too evident but it can be useful to say it’s present, regarding some situations. Also it waxes and wanes, that’s definite. And it can be different in what tasks end up more adapted to and what tend to be messy. So there can be reason to seek a degree of executive sysfunction.

        Like

  8. I hope this is alright for me to say. If not, sorry, please feel free to delete the comment.

    My first inclination is to offer positive words of support, saying your late story pace was fine. But it sounds like that’s not really helpful rI never really considered that dropping to one 10-15k word chapter a week output doesn’t correspond to a more relaxed writing pace, but a more frustrating one. Lower output for similar time and effort input.

    Shit, man. I don’t have the magic words to summon that deadline-adrenaline on command. But I know that relying on deadline adrenaline for productivity is pretty common in certain flavours of neuro-spicy individuals. I’m no medical professional, and I really can’t say if your brain is on the spicy end of things, but professionals have told me that mine is, and your writing really resonates with me like no other author I’ve read. Maybe the right professionals can help, with a neurodivergent deadline adrenaline sort of framing in mind, rather than writer’s block.

    Liked by 4 people

  9. This is kind of similar to my experience in college. I’d start a semester ready to rip and tear, I’d be 100% on top of things, get assignments done weeks in advance if I could. Then I’d learn that if I’m 80% on top of things I’d still mostly get A’s on assignments, and that would immediately slip to 50% and subconsciously I wouldn’t really take it seriously until the A’s turned into C’s. By then, even if I went back to 100% I wouldn’t be getting A’s, I’d have to catch up first.

    This happened pretty much every year except my Junior year. I tried to put way too much into those semesters, every class was hard and I was at my limit. If I was 100% on top of it starting out, I’d be lucky to get B’s. It felt like if I fell even slightly behind, I’d have to live in the library if I wanted to catch up. I’ve never worked harder in my life than I did that year, and academia wise it’s the only time where I look at whatever went wrong and think “there’s absolutely nothing I could have done better”. I put in a lot more work that year, but not as much work per week as I put in when I was trying to catch up in the other three years, I think. Sprinting the end of a 10k versus a marathon, maybe. It was stressful, but when I wasn’t stressed I felt amazing, I felt like a machine and I felt fulfilled in a way I didn’t come close to in the other three years. It felt like the other three years, I was the hare, and that year I was the tortoise, and fuck does it feel good to actually be competing against the hare when you’re the tortoise.

    It feels like the problem was that I had leeway. My goal was to put in just as much effort as was efficient and would get me a decent grade. If I achieved that relatively easily, then I was putting in too much effort and should go play Frisbee or hangout with my girlfriend more. But when you take away the effort, you don’t immediately get bad grades until you start to fall behind, so I’d take too much. That delay is killer. The only time that never happened to me was when I was struggling from day one. Frisbee is never worth it when the lack of effort could make you have to repeat a course, unless the break is more beneficial than the effort to your grade. After the first week of that third year, I knew that any give could be catastrophic. There was never any point where I’d hit a bump and my subconscious was like “eh, this is fine”, it was always “fuck that bump freaking hurt and it’s going to hurt for like two weeks until I’ve recovered from it fuuuck”.

    I don’t know if you found that at all relatable like I did for your essay, but maybe there’s some kind of insight to be found here. That being said, I don’t think I would ever want to do what I did in that third year for four years. I’m really glad I did it and had the experience, but I was so relieved when it was done.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Octavia Butler once said on a TV interview: writer’s block isn’t about a writer can’t write, it’s more like they’re writing, but none of the works is usable.

    So if you see it in that light, I don’t think you ever truly hit writer’s block. After all, even when the “down” parts of Pale, it’s still enjoyable imo. Except maybe when you didn’t write anything, but I doubt a working writer really don’t write anything.

    Personally, I really like the writers’ workshop kind of practice: if you’re unsure the writing is usable or not, better get some other perspectives on it and be done with the parts that can be done. So you might sleep more, rest more, put more energy on future writing. But I know some people just don’t live near other creative people, and online workshop can be sucky sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. There’s a framework in ADHD world for motivation. Sometimes it’s abbreviated as INCUP: Interest, Novelty, Challenge, Urgency, and Passion. It seems like you’ve been leaning into Urgency for a long time, and the moments when you went over your deadline were moments of Passion. Maybe lean more into Challenge?

    Liked by 3 people

  12. You may not be looking for the comment section to solve your problem – indeed, that might be healthiest – but this is something I’ve also dealt with in my own art, prose and classical music in particular, so I wanted to offer my perspective.

    I don’t think it’s a bad thing to be a gardener, but I do think that gardens benefit from broad-strokes planning, even within a chapter. Knowing “where do I want this chapter to end” and then writing with that specific end point in mind (even if it doesn’t end up exactly as originally pictured) is good practice in that it helps you have a defined end point. As a dedicated reader, it already feels like you do that, but if not, it might be good to try.

    One solution that you may or may not have tried is a slight adaptation to the advice a jazz professor gave me regarding soloing. He said:

    “Give yourself arbitrary rules that you must follow.”

    I would say, because you’re already doing this in a sense (no sleep till Brooklyn– I mean, until chapter end), that making those into artistic rules instead of deadline rules might be more healthy.

    1.) Making yourself fit into a “per diem” word count might be interesting, as much as i admire your ability to make 20k words feel like I read 5k.

    2.) Giving yourself things that must occur in the chapter – “Snowdrop must be interrupted each time she attempts to speak,” or ”

    3.) This goes back to deadlines, but only allowing yourself X amount of hours to write the chapter, or a maximum daily word count, might fit into that artistic push you say you get.

    Whatever you do in the future, the cycle you describe in the post might work, but it’s not healthy. It sounds like a creative ouroboros that eats itself alive. How you change it might end up being environmental, or schedule, or artistic, but I’d rather see you around for a long time.

    Best,

    C

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Really interesting to read this! To get a feel of where you’re at, but also just getting a look “behind the scenes”. Particularly liked the drawings, they had a bit of a “Wait But Why” quality to them. Take however long you need to figure this out, we’ll be waiting when your’re ready.

    Personally, I have found some mental model and advice from professionals that ‘clicked’. It can just take a lot of filtering and hearing various ideas to find the right one.

    The way I would frame the gist of your essay, the core challenge isn’t necessarily generating tension – it’s getting into “the zone” for writing. Building tension by setting deadlines is one strategy for this that has obviously worked for you in the past. It seems like the motivation inherent in a teenager needing to deal with their own feelings was another. But there are more strategies, and I think it could be worth actively trying out those if patching up the current strategy doesn’t work out.

    Additionally, there may be more factors that influence this state beyond the tension. A bit like not thinking about the context of writing.

    Someone that has helped me a lot with mental models for this kind of thing is Alok Kanojia (called “Dr. K” by the internet). He’s a psychiatrist and doctor that extends his explanations with models and meditation techniques drawn from the yogic tradition. He mainly streams on Twitch and publishes videos to YouTube. I’ve found parallels between the models he talks about and things like Product/Process/Context that you have described.

    Coincidentally, he just released a video on what goes into a “flow state”: Sustained focus (even against “productive” things like doing dishes instead of working), a balanced degree of eustress (constructive stress) and dissolution of ego (“Losing yourself in the page”). Here’s the full video, including suggested methods to help with these things: https://youtu.be/l5GMD587vCc

    There’s a lot of other material going more into depth about focus, procrastination, learning from what went well rather than what went wrong, and more that I won’t list here. If you’re interested in details on a specific topic, I’d be glad to provide pointers to the relevant content. Few resources have helped me as much in understanding my mind as Dr. K has.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh. We write in such similar ways. Seat of the pants, huge longs bursts of text. Using that sustained hyperfocus to knit ideas together.

    Big difference, we the Inmara started out our earlier writing career doing a webcomic. So, mostly dialogue with lots of drawing, and slow, slow, slow development of plot. And almost nothing but deadlines.

    And the deadlines thing was critical for getting us to work, just like it seems to be for you. For so long, it was the only way we could reliably get anything done.

    But we burnt out on it.

    And we can’t do deadlines anymore. They trigger CPTSD and drop us deep into a the Ruins. Though it feels more like the Abyss, to be honest.

    And our burnout was way more than related to the webcomic. It came from untreated severe gender dysphoria, unaccommodated autistic needs, a series of tyrannical graphic design clients, and generally trying to be human when we’re not. We lost a LOT of Self, to use an analogy from Pale.

    During our recovery, which took over eight years, we were desperately looking for a creative outlet that we could even do, and after reading Worm we decided to try our hand at writing. But, with no deadlines. No obligations.

    We can do about 140k words in a month, when we’re on our game. We wrote 5 novels of various lengths in one year.

    We can’t do a damn thing about keeping a professional schedule, though. Because deadlines remain a massive trigger.

    Anyway, you probably work very differently than we do. We’re autistic (and plural), and autistic people have brains that are as different from each other as they are from allistic (not-autistic) people.

    But maybe reading the account of one more (or a lot more) person (people) and comparing experiences and differences will shake some ideas loose.

    We hope you find a new equilibrium that unlocks the fun again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m an occasional smallest-scale writer who is also pretty scared of deadlines because they gone sour due to university life. Not that there were that many… but my episodic memory is very scarce. There could have been many. And I can probably notice that I too usually write my longest short things in a burst, too. And then I need to edit or it’d be spaghetti with lots of parentheticals or, better, lots of footnotes (a recent thing which I would try to keep).

      No advice, too. Except well I have a question (for wildbow): what’s your stance on shorter-length chapters? You’ve probably said it somewhere already and I quite possibly might have read it but then forgot, as is usual. Because shorter chapters might be easier and more gratifying simultaneously. It also can mean a more regular, fine-grained schedule with more places to rest in it too. But that depends.

      Like

  15. I think you need to talk to other writers. Maybe go to a Con?

    TBH Its not obvious to me that your current level of productivity is actually less than that of a typical novelist. Your previous level was like several novels a year? Most writers do 2. So, while it would be great to be back at the your best rate, it may be worth thinking about whether it would really be a problem if you didn’t. You can improve in other ways too

    Liked by 1 person

  16. “Help! I lack discipline, and need deadlines to get things done!”

    I know a writer, and one who has about 3 real jobs on top of writing.

    If you lack discipline, sit your ass down and WRITE MORE. Don’t think, don’t analyze, don’t, whatever you do, delete a damn thing. Is it wrong? Catch it on your second pass. Sit down and write for four hours a day. Or 8, if you can. Ideas need to flow, they need to fly out of your fingers.

    You may get 1 hour of “decent” writing (with a lot of typos). Another two that are salvageable on the third or fourth pass (a quarter of the words, maybe).

    You train your mind, though — let your ideas flow, let the ideas get onto the page — then shape them. The creative process is interactive, it is planting seeds and experimenting with how to shape them. Seeing which ideas work, and which don’t (but do that on a second pass).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi!

      Most of us are giving constructive criticism and sympathetic anecdotes to somebody who we understand has already tried many of these suggestions and more. We’re doing it from a place of love and care, knowing that he really doesn’t need any of this advice, but it lets us feel that we’re demonstrating how we understand what he’s going through and, hey, maybe he didn’t hear the one bit of obscure lore that we have (highly unlikely).

      What you have just done reads like tough love and is especially restating something that Wildbow has already said that he has tried. This comes across as callous and very “get good, loser”. I’m sure you didn’t mean it that way, but that’s kinda how you’re coming across, friend.

      Like

      • Mental training is tough. Anyone who needs deadlines to write is already in a bad place — they need to retrain themselves out of that.

        We tell myths about creators — the “Mad Composer” writing in his room in a spurt of creativity. That’s actually sexual frustration, generally, and while productive, doesn’t form a lasting work experience.

        Most creators get up each morning and write. They write a lot. Then, and only then, do they critique their work.

        I’m not the person to talk to about “I’m having trouble editing my work down.” And, yes, writing is the easy part (at least if you haven’t hobbled your brain into no longer having ideas at all, through fear of failure).

        But, if you can’t recognize someone saying “people are too nice” as asking for a little tough love… Maybe you are too nice?

        Liked by 1 person

  17. Ya know, you can ask us to hold your feet to the fire, on deadlines. I’m sure most of us would be happy to do it. Most of the time it’s unproductive for authors, because most authors have genuine problems when they aren’t hitting deadlines on time. (And, frankly, most people are genuinely happy with a once a week update that’s good and shiny– I’d have started kvetching if you stopped updating for a month.) Here, no one holding you to account seems to be aggravating the problem.

    Also: instead of stalling and wondering where you should go — write ’em All! Choose the one that works best. Give yourself license to be MORE creative, not pickey choosey. And you can build up a backlog of “discards” that can be woven in later, when you need them.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Really interesting and valuable post. I’ve been trying to ‘get into’ writing consistently since I was 13, and a little under a year ago I started yet-another-idea with the plan to stick to a schedule – no matter what happened. For the first time in my life, this actually worked, but similar-ish to what you describe, I found myself basically using ‘need to sleep’ to force myself into that zone of being able to actually focus, which ended up being kind of unhealthy. I quit completely and haven’t really written anything since, and it’s harder now than ever before to consider the ‘how’ of approaching a project.
    It feels impossible. I really relate to the struggle you describe here (although I’ve put orders of magnitude less effort into mitigations).

    Like

    • Thanks — I think I’ve tried this out a bit in the past, unfortunately other people are also extremely distracting to me, so it ends up being kind of net neutral on average, depending on the day. It seems like such a good strategy though…

      Like

      • I body double with my wife sometimes, or she will go someplace sit-down like a Panera and put in headphones to block out the nose of other people. The visual and… “physical” noise (their presence in a physical space) tends to just settle into a blur of white noise.

        But yeah, it’s a tool that isn’t for everybody. I typically find it more distracting than not, especially if it isn’t anybody I’m really close with.

        Like

Reply - No Pact spoilers!