Essay – Digging Deeper

Note: this essay does have some spoilers for various works, but I say this as someone spoiler-averse, I don’t think they’re too bad.  Mostly generalized setting stuff you get in the first few chapters and abstract ideas about who a character is.

I’ve been thinking about trying to put my thoughts into words on this one for a bit, and the working title was ‘the essay I’m most likely to regret writing’.  That’s intended as a bit of a hook, but it also lets me stress that I really hope people don’t take away the wrong ideas.

In my last essay, I talked about my process, but it wasn’t the full story.  There’s a reason I settled on the specific characters and ideas for characters I did, and there’s a reason the ‘click’ for Worm was what it was.  What connects me to the work?

Worm had a decade of story drafts and ideas that preceded it, a graveyard of failed stories that I couldn’t seem to get off the ground.  I figured out the issue in my writing routine that was making me run aground, I was reading web serials on and off around then, and I thought having the schedule would work.  That left me at a weird point, though- I literally had over a hundred failed story drafts and story ideas, and how do you pick what works from out of all of that?  None stood out as the idea.

I had a few ideas for powers and people with powers I could dwell on, I liked taking the powers that were boring or overdone, and giving them a twist, or taking powers that were given to the C-list, one-shot villains.  Your condiment kings, darkness controller, flying bricks, bug swarm controllers.  Up until the day I started putting Worm down on the wordpress site, I had a conception of that setting where magic also existed, and aliens had crashed into the north pole, leaving a crater filled with material that was prized for costumes, due to its durability.

The adage of ‘write what you know’ crossed my mind, and with it, things fell into place.  Taylor’s experience with being bullied closely parallels my own – I was a guy and my bullies were guys, mostly, and it was very social bullying, underhanded, with casual insults.  So I framed that as Taylor and her bullies.  It was a chance to take my own experiences and translate them to the page.

Not just the bullying, either, other aspects of her experience matched my own as well.  Self-image, the struggle for validation, the relationship with her dad, abstracted.  My own experience was that bullying and isolation got to me, I stopped going to school for nearly a year, and at the end of that, obviously, report cards came out.  I got caught, and I got in trouble, but nobody really noticed or did anything about it.  The school made a few calls home, I deleted answering machine messages, that was that.  Everyone involved seemed preoccupied.  I started school the next year, started skipping almost immediately, and got caught very close to the end.  The woman who came in once every two weeks to check on my hearing aids and make sure my needs were being met (called an itinerant teacher) caught me in a lie and that was that.  She was the same person who pointed me to an alternative school, but at that stage, I’m moving away from parallels with Taylor.

Aside from two of those itinerant teachers, I had one teacher I would’ve called good in my time at school, and she left partway through the school year to be a principal elsewhere.  The rest of the time, it felt hostile, or like teachers were the bullies.  I’d get a new teacher and right away it would feel like they hated me.  Many years later, when I was working in a grocery store, I ran into the other good itinerant teachers and she told me how the teachers in the school would spend most of their time in the teachers lounge badmouthing problem students, particularly disabled ones and ones with English as a second language.  They hated making accommodations or anything that required extra effort and wearing the body mics that would let me hear them, to the point it was a part of the daily conversation across the years she was my itinerant teacher.  By the time I had a teacher, they’d have heard about me for years.

In writing Taylor, I channeled this- reframed a bit of it.  I came out of school frustrated and angry at that system.  Taylor carries that anger and frustration in a big way, but expands it outward to institutionalized heroism and law, government, and everything else.

So… Taylor is me, right?

But so is Blake.  So is Sylvester.  So is Victoria.  So are the trio.

What does it mean ‘write what you know’?  Because this isn’t autobiographical.  I’ve seen the question asked a week ago on a writing forum, as someone talked about how their life wasn’t interesting- and I don’t think mine was especially interesting either.  At the same time, I think you have to pull something out of yourself.  You have to connect to the work.

In writing Blake, in writing Sylvester, in writing Victoria, I think I was much narrower about what I was digging through my experiences for.  These are characters that I would spend a million-plus words in the heads of, and if I couldn’t connect to them, that would be really hard to do.  Imagine writing Snowdrop as a point of view character, where every line of dialogue requires that extra bit of effort, to flip it around and invert its meaning, while still making it sound like something someone could say, and doing that for a million words.

Doable?  Yes, I do it when writing interludes, but it’s exhausting.  I can say I’ve experienced that a bit when writing Twig, where I had to be constantly mindful of not having too ‘modern’ a voice.

So Sylvester is, in a way, drawn from who I was as a preteen.  I was profoundly hard of hearing, making everything require that extra time and effort to process and make sense of.

I’d needed glasses but didn’t have them yet (I’d memorized the eye chart).

Distracting ringing in my ears that fed directly into lack of sleep.

A visual ‘snow’ over everything I saw (that I only realized wasn’t normal as an adult).

Which I think played into me having an overactive imagination.  When there were so many barriers between me and the rest of the world, I could tell myself stories or draw, doodle, and it was clear.

As part of that, I think, I lied a lot starting in middle school (which definitely didn’t help my teachers like me much- but that ship had long since sunk).  Part escapism, partly creativity needing an outlet and not having writing yet, partly a way to assert control when I felt like I had none.  I told my teacher (the one good one, sadly) that I couldn’t do my homework because our family was renovating our house and we were living in a tent, and got caught on parent teacher day.  I got months with no homework, out of that.

Astute readers my remember Verona’s ladder story, and that’s a close parallel.  She got that, out of my store of personal experience.  But when I finished Pact and was reaching for a protagonist who’d be distinct from Blake, I looked for dishonesty and tapped into the me that I was as a preteen, or the me I wanted to be back then.  Or a combination of those: painfully dishonest, in control in the chaos, smarter than everyone around me.  It’s an anecdote and a note of background for Verona, but it’s Sylvester’s lived experience.

You can place the protagonists on a loose timeline of my life, for where their perspectives and mindsets were pulled from.  Sylvester, then the trio, for elementary and then middle school, Taylor for high school (already talked about her), Blake for post-graduation, struggling with the crush of negativity coming from the past.  Victoria as the most ‘grown’ me, wrestling with family and a world that wasn’t doing so hot, once you looked past the surface.

When I approached writing Pale, I had a lot of things to consider, when piecing it together.  I wanted to place the story in a framework, genre-wise and setting-wise, that would constrain it a bit (obviously I abandoned that to a big degree).  I also wanted to look at past stories, to see what worked for me.  What was I pulling from?

When I was sorting through the various options for what I’d do for Pale, I remembered how things had clicked well with writing Taylor once I started doing that ‘write what you know’ thing, drawing on personal experience.  I figured I didn’t have much to lose- if the short serials didn’t work, I might be done with writing anyway, so I played hard into the ‘write what you know’ thing, even knowing I was rehashing some old stuff.  You can trace lines, from Sylvester as a liar to Verona doing the same- for different reasons.  The background feeling of being abandoned and isolated as Avery connects to the same thing for Taylor with her dad and school.  Was some of that my/Avery’s/Taylor’s fault?  Not reaching out better?  Probably.  But we fall into the traps we fall into.

Lucy’s experiences with subtle racism and the weight of doubt are informed by my own with ableism.  Is that teacher talking to me like I’m an idiot because that’s how he talks, because I’m deaf and he’s trying (and failing) to help, or because he thinks I’m an idiot because I’m deaf?  Is that teacher hostile because of my hearing impairment?  Which, if you go back and read some comment sections, is kind of funny- somehow, it’s when I draw most closely on personal experience that people say stuff isn’t true or doesn’t happen in real life- Lucy being treated like she was, Taylor’s experiences at school.

And yeah, I have parallels with Verona’s experience too.

I’ll stress that when veering in such a direction, it’s more about capturing the overarching sentiments than 1:1 recounting of events, or an expy of a real life person.  Capturing the actual events would require hundreds of thousands of words on the subject, and nobody wants to read that.  Instead, it’s about finding the isolated moments that encapsulate stuff and conveying things through those.

In brief: my mom isn’t Brett, but my experience growing up looked a lot like some of those scenes in the story.  My parents weren’t Connor and Kelsey Kelly, but Avery’s experience being stuck watching talent show reality TV was my own (except in my case it was hockey).  There’s no direct analogue to Lucy’s teachers Mr. Bader or Mr. Sitton, but that feeling like the way teachers treated her and how unfair and perplexing it was?  Those were my own.  And, as described above, were validated by an outside party, years later.  I’d like to think Lucy would have something like that, too.

And through that, I think I can sort of process stuff and digest it.  Writing Taylor as a lens through which to see my own past experience helped me recognize that I was angry at those systems in the first place.  Writing Verona, Avery, and Lucy helped me do the same with other experiences.  I fractured aspects of my own experience and those aspects were the ones I settled on, when trying to figure out what my protagonists would do.

Through that, with Lucy, I feel like I’ve settled parts of myself or my past that were uneasy or unresolved, when it came to teachers, the unfairness of that institution and the lack of consideration I got.

I’ve dwelt on the idea of isolation and what it means and what I want, on that front, out of life.  With Avery, I wrote a pretty standard romance for the first time in six million words or so?  Through that, on my side of the screen, I was processing ideas about romance, having to push myself to write it.  Avery reached out, she found Nora, she reconnected with family.  I don’t think that suits me, though.  I’m mulling over the fact I may be aromantic in the way Verona describes- or if things are a spectrum, I’m leaning fairly heavily that way.  I’ve dated, it’s almost universally been a mess, partially owing to the fact I was never that into it.  I’m pretty content on my own.

And through Verona, writing out the Brett stuff, having written stuff in Ward on a similar-but-different front as well, I explored a lot of past experience.  Sometimes we grow up, we don’t dwell a ton on past experience, but when we do have occasion to, we look at it all in aggregate and realize it sure wasn’t great.  I had an experience like that, and when partway into the story, my mom reverted back to old behaviors, I ended up going no contact with her.  I don’t think I would’ve done that if I hadn’t been writing an analogue of it through Verona.  My life is a tenth as stressful, now.

I tapped into the ‘write what you know’ more seriously because I thought it might be a boost for the story and it really worked.  I’d argue it’s a chunk of why I took Pale from something shorter to something longer.  It was rewarding, not least because of how it helped put things to rest and explore stuff that I wouldn’t otherwise have done.

That raises issues and questions, though.  That’s a limited pool of experience and there has already been a bit of overlap.  I don’t want to have protagonists seem too similar.  I do want to tap into that, though.

Across all of these essays, I hope a general sentiment of intentionality comes through.  Mindfulness.  Whether it’s making sure that every failed story gets a title page that helps map out what I’m doing and what’s working, or what isn’t, or recycling unused characters, or paying attention to my writing process or other stuff, the key is to pay attention to what I’m doing.

Part of doing that in a good way involves pulling my head out of my ass or sifting through the noise and recognizing cues and heads-up about what I’m not being mindful about.  A lot of the time, that comes in the form of wake-up calls when I’m using language or tropes that aren’t good on a meta-level (like the treatment of LGBT+ characters in some earlier works) or people calling stuff out in their critiques of the work.

I’ve been told, for one example, that I do a poor job of differentiating character voices, or keeping consistent voices.

Edit: to clarify, I’m not talking about perspectives so much here- I think I’m good at writing different perspectives.  Primarily referring to different voices in dialogue.  Inner thoughts too, a bit.

Part of that is serial writing at work- when I have to get 10k words of writing done by a set deadline, slowing down and considering each character voice isn’t easy… and maybe it’s not something that comes natural to me, when I’m hard of hearing and I’m not that good at hearing voices in the first place.

So, that in mind, is there a way to write a new story where individualized character voices are something I’m forced to work on?  Cornering myself?

I do this with every story, even if it’s as simple as writing Pact with the goal of ‘now do what you did with Worm, but do it again, different genre’.  When approaching Twig, I wrote an intimately connected team and structured the work so the arcs are a season apart (kinda- it gets tricky), to slow down and have more character interaction, after complaints on those fronts in Pact?  If I could work out a story idea that also forces me to address a weakness or take a new direction, that’s ideal.  Not necessarily easy, but constructive.

The question I’m left asking myself is: How can I be mindful and constructive while assessing this ‘write what you know’ energy I was really able to tap into with Worm and Pale?

What if, for example, addressing stuff I’m passionate about that isn’t a part of my personal lived experience serves as a way of tapping into that energy and finding that enhanced flow?  Without drawing from a limited pool and having overlap between protagonists?

Or, taking a page from how I’d get stuck on a story in the pre-Worm drought and then turn around and write a story from the antagonist’s perspective… maybe there’s an ‘undercity’ style reversal where I find something I want to explore and explore it from the other side.  Once serial numbers are filed off and a fresh angle is taken, that could open a lot of doors, and while such a character might not be the easiest to write, it could still hold onto that energy I get from digesting.

As I approach the idea of shorter stories, this is something I’m doing in the background.  It’s not just about coming up with a story idea.  Coming up with a story idea is easy, I have a hundred sitting in a writing folder.  It’s about finding a character or idea I can connect to, something I can do that’s constructive for building up skills while I’m writing it, giving it the click I talked about in my prior essay, and making sure it’s something the audience would be intrigued by at the same time.  That’s where it gets tricky.

Part of the reason I thought I might regret this essay is because I worry a bit that when I write a future story, people will be speculating or making assumptions, and it’s something that people are often really, really bad at. I’ve been called a woman, Asian, black, an only child, a robot, an old man, multiple authors writing under one pen name, and more.  Almost always wrong.  When a comment on a site or an email says “Wildbow thinks…” or “Wildbow does this because…” it’s wrong more often than it’s right, short of direct quotes.

I remain worried that if I write a story and it deals with a celebrity, I’ll have readers pointing their finger and going “Clearly, based on the ‘digging’ essay, Wildbow is writing about himself and the fandom!”  Or if I write about a cyborg, people will point to my cochlear implant or draw false analogies to the Deaf community.

Maybe that’s the door I open by writing this- I just hope it’s interesting enough for enough people to read that it’s worth any annoyance I suffer on that front.

Or maybe, by writing this, I corner myself and force myself to take a new, constructive path.

23 thoughts on “Essay – Digging Deeper

  1. Nice essay, however, have you considered that you are three feminist witches in leauge with a demon & that’s why pale was so good? (all jokes aside, this was a really good examination on writing what you know, thanks Bow)

    Liked by 8 people

  2. Good essay. Great consideration and like… a reminder that “Write what you know” is a thing… but also that a large amount of alchemy gets applied, and this can be the power of it.

    I don’t have any answers to the questions you are musing over (Honestly, I’m at the stage of trying to get that alchemy to work), but… I don’t think you should feel too concerned with continuing to use your own life for things. I’ve found your various protagonists very different, and also… hell, People have a writing style.
    Its true that a different character SHOULD think in a different style, but if I showed up one day and the writing style was completely different… well… I mean, I came here to read a story written by a particular author. Of course its going to have that authors style (Even if that slightly narrows the range of possible narrator voices).

    Liked by 2 people

    • I would say that a good way of getting better at differentiating character voices (not the same thing as narrator voice!) is to read homestuck, then some homestuck chatfics, then at least head-write some yourself. Homestuck makes it really easy to both differentiate characters by voice AND to mimic those voices, and this builds skill even when you’re working with pre-made material.

      Like

  3. I think this essay has helped me get a better idea of why characters like Gilkey and Alpeana connected so well with me, despite them being clearly and obviously not human. The “lived experience” that goes into your characterization (particularly in interludes) isn’t necessarily just about things that I’ve also literally experienced, but there’s a deeper sentiment behind a lot of marginalizing experiences that can come through. I’ve never been transformed into acid, but I do know what it’s like to have a body that doesn’t do what you want it to and won’t ever seem to feel right. I’ve never popped into existence out of fragments of dreams but I do know what it’s like to have to build an identity for yourself after some major element of your past is Lost. And so on. It’s something I haven’t managed to find with anywhere near as much depth and meaning as in your serials, and for that I’m thankful.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Thanks, this was again really interesting, although I hope it doesn’t cause the kind of grief down the road that you’re worried about. (To be maybe slightly too optimistic, maybe people will be less prone to jump to conclusions given the clearer picture of what “write what you know” does and doesn’t mean?)

    I’ll echo aspects of what ninegardens and astridplus have said above – the concerns you’re having are valid, but I think it’s good to remember that your own authorial voice/style is also a part of what draws people to your work. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that Worm and Pale, the two works you single out as the ones where you were able to really able to tap into this energy, are the ones I most consistently hear put forward as being your best.

    In general, my instinct (as someone who’s never tried to actually write down a work of fiction, so, like, big grain of salt) is that while it’ll probably be good for you to push your boundaries on this a lot of what you’re saying is just a fundamental part of writing a character that feels like a real person – you have to be able to empathize with them and understand how they think, this is naturally gonna involve recognizing yourself in them to some extent, and even if they’re very different from you you’re gonna write them most compellingly when you can find that overlap and see how who they are is who some version of you could’ve been, if you’d found yourself in different circumstances and the balances of different parts of you were tweaked a little or a lot. This is something I’ve really enjoyed about your work, and I know I’m not alone in this – nearly all of your characters, even the non-protagonists, feel like some reasonable approximation of real people, and my impression has always been that it’s because you’re someone who reflects deeply on your own psychology and how it does and doesn’t map onto others.

    So, like, maybe what I want to say here is that I feel like there’s less of a solid border between writing something that’s “about your lived experience” and something that isn’t than you’re making out – in all your characters, there are things that you’ve changed from yourself and things you’ve kept the same, and it’s just a matter of pushing yourself to keep being creative in how you reinterpret that going forward.

    Also, one possible thing to think about, if you’re worried about the well running dry on your own life experiences: Are you living your life now in a way that’ll keep generating fresh perspective? You mentioned having come to some conclusions on how you relate to isolation and what you want for yourself in that regard, although not what they were, and maybe if this messes with that it’s not worth it just to write better fiction, but I think it might be valuable to have some part of your life that brings different kinds of experiences with new people and lets you see how you react to those experiences and find parts of yourself (or not) in those people, if you don’t already.

    Thanks again for writing this – it must be strange to be this public with stuff that’s quite personal, but I think it’s valuable and I’ve enjoyed reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can’t remember if you’d mentioned it earlier, or if I’d just assumed, but I always got the impression that each protagonist was, in some way, an incomplete part of you and your experiences. Depending on my state of mind, I find myself identifying more with one or the other of those I’ve read (Blake and Taylor) and I’m thinking that I quite likely will at times with the rest once I’ve caught up. As always, it’s nice to see a peek behind the curtain as far as your writing process goes, especially when it’s tied to personal experience. Eagerly awaiting whatever project you pursue next – hopefully after a very well-deserved break.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I like hearing what went into a given process, especially given the diversity of characters you’ve written. Makes sense that you have to connect to a protagonist in some fashion to be able to keep going for a million words. I like how they’re all just little aspects of you and how you can parlay experiences from one aspect to another (such as ableism to racism).

    But I can understand why an essay like this would give you pause before hiring Publish because, yeah, some parts of the fandom are definitely going to go off in random directions. I don’t think that not posting this would necessarily deprive them of fuel, though. Weirdos gonna weirdo, after all. 😛

    Liked by 3 people

  7. There essays have been really cool and great! The mire of ‘how, why, and what to create’ is a deep and difficult one, and I really appreciate the first-hand view.

    Something that’s always attracted me personally to your work is how you seemed to pick the character in a mainstream work I would think is the coolest but that popular media treats as throwaway and not worth exploring – the ‘weird bug-controlling’ character, the ‘creepily synchronized children’ trope, the ‘social manipulation agent of chaos,’ characters that become beloved villains and side-characters but never seem to get exploration and screen-time. If they get to talk, it’s only if they die after. People who would have interesting perspectives, and fascinating voices – voices and perspectives you respect and convey.

    You’re not some Disney attempt at writing ‘What if Cruella DeVille but a protagonist’ that reduces all the characters and motivations to ones I’ve already seen and then tells me that they are cool. You make such characters a genuine way, and give them a headspace that feels real and not exactly like Standard Protagonist 3-a. At the same time you remain mindful of their aesthetic appeal – the thing that keeps them showing up as side and bit characters; and you ‘show the work’ of how such an aesthetic could have come to be born for that particular person.

    Easy example: There’s an anime movie I like, Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust. It stars nominally an edgy anti-hero, but the story I want to see is the story of the one weird throw-away character named Bengi who commands cloth, shadows, and unexplained ‘cat’s cradle string’ powers, talks like a snarky grandma that knows where the shotgun is, and lives in a weird cathedral, working for a constantly-uni-cycling sensual clown who has obviously seen a lot of shit. I want the story where I see the inner narration of that character, and the everyday interactions of him and the rest of his band of outsiders. I would not trust the author of Vampire Hunter D to write this. You are, in my mind, the author who could write that story and have it be good, and feel right. They would all be creepy and cool and dealing with pain and I’d love them. Their minds would be all kinds of shapes.

    Your recent essays also shed light on why I want that, which is pretty cool. Thank you for telling me/the audience about yourself, I know that can be scary to write about. I got good self-reflection out of it, and I think it’ll help me find how, why, and what to write, myself. From the sounds of it, a lot of other people, as well.

    Liked by 4 people

  8. {I remain worried that if I write a story and it deals with a celebrity, I’ll have readers pointing their finger and going “Clearly, based on the ‘digging’ essay, Wildbow is writing about himself and the fandom!” Or if I write about a cyborg, people will point to my cochlear implant or draw false analogies to the Deaf community.}

    Duly noted while things my be vaguely inspired that says only the very vaguest things about you( like thinking a character would be fun to write).

    I really love your stories because for each character I feel connected to. Even characters who are very amoral and inhuman like the Sable Prince I get why they do things even if I don’t agree with it. That is something I feel you do well.

    I also agree with 6 Seven Ate Nine that you are good if coming up with niches in genres that are not often tackled or you tackle in your own way. I feel I could find that interesting in any genre you explore( though if you have a cool idea for a story that plays tropes straight go for it).

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I have been guilty of inferring on the author’s life (in jest, if that helps) based on the baby titan, as a throwback to life-events in relation to Worm’s dragon-fetus thing. Sorry about that. I’ll try to keep it in mind for the future.

    I’ve gotta say, Bow, I think it’s great that you’re doing your reflection posts on the story website instead of the Pig Pen this time. I remember seeing some people talking in the Pale chapter comments (like 18 and a half arcs in, or something), complaining about why you were leaning so hard into more inclusive language, etc. with Jasmine (a positive change, IMO). Even though you were pretty clear about earlier LGBT+ character treatment regrets in one of your Pig Pen posts, so it makes sense that you’d make efforts to avoid the same mistakes. It seems like this would be a better way to reach your audience, to let us know how you’re feeling about the stories, and your writing process. Hopefully that cuts down on future chafing between author and audience. But I can also see how that extra visibility cuts both ways. In the end, I think the benefits outweigh the risks here.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Based on how good you are describing characters and writing stories about people feeling awful a lot of the times, I always had the feeling you must have experienced some of those feelings yourself.

    It is especially the powerlessness and lack of control over these situations that hit hardest for me and some of the writing had a negative impact on my mood. That sounds bad, but on the other hand I think it also fosters better understanding about just how awful another persons situation can be, even if it doesn’t seem to be from the outside.

    I hope your situation continues to improve and at some point you’ll also be able to draw on tons of positive life experiences.

    Liked by 5 people

  11. Verona and friends had a few specific things that made them feel unreal to me. Verona’s insistence on using “metal water bottles”, for example. She’s smart enough to understand that doing things by “half measures” isn’t going to solve anything. So, if she was going to “save the environment” she’d have a plan to kill about a third of all North Americans (this is just to start, mind.) She sounded like exactly the type of person who wouldn’t “Do something because everyone else is doing it OR do something “that the other girls aren’t doing” to get attention.”

    Having specific drinks that you always get is such a “I’m special because I Chose Something” maneuver, and you also tossed that in — and the people you’re writing don’t feel “in little marketing boxes” like that.

    … and those are two standard tricks for “differentiating people.”

    I have trouble differentiating voices too. The best start for differentiating voices is different perspectives. Lucy thinks differently about romance than Verona does. But that should be expressed in every viewing of romance — and the words, and the concepts Lucy uses should be different.

    A different aspect to different voices is word choice. People describe a particular “real event” or “object” differently (for an extreme example, you can look at private parts, which are not just “where I learned it” but also “what it’s being used for” and “how I conceptualize that part of the body”). Dick versus penis versus phallus — each one has a flavor.

    Like

    • I have trouble differentiating voices too. The best start for differentiating voices is different perspectives. Lucy thinks differently about romance than Verona does. But that should be expressed in every viewing of romance — and the words, and the concepts Lucy uses should be different.

      I mean… they kind of were.
      Like… this is explicitly something which happened in the story. Repeatedly.

      A different aspect to different voices is word choice. People describe a particular “real event” or “object” differently (for an extreme example, you can look at private parts, which are not just “where I learned it” but also “what it’s being used for” and “how I conceptualize that part of the body”). Dick versus penis versus phallus — each one has a flavor.

      This also happened. As an example, we literally had only one character who refered to private parts as “the woohoo”

      She’s smart enough to understand that doing things by “half measures” isn’t going to solve anything. So, if she was going to “save the environment” she’d have a plan to kill about a third of all North Americans (this is just to start, mind.)

      Wildly enough, not everyone believes this.
      Someone can be smart without coming to the exact same conclusions as you.
      Believing “This character is smart, therefore there is only one possible conclusion they could come to” is just… kind of weird and arrogant.

      Liked by 3 people

    • By your illogic Verona wouldn’t bother putting her trash in trash cans because her choice to personally not litter is a “half measure” that won’t solve Litter.

      Plus, paying $2 for a disposable bottle of water every time you’re thirsty is financially unsound; it makes far more sense to pay $20 once for a durable bottle that you can refill for pennies and keep using for decades. Only a complete fucking imbecile like VD wastes money buying bottled water when they don’t have to.

      On top of all that, consider the context. Verona didn’t buy those bottles to save the environment; that’s just a happy benefit. What she actually bought them for was to house the spirits she was recruiting during the influx after Edith was arrested. It makes sense to use more durable bottles for that. Once she was done transferring them to their shrines she was left with a bunch of nice bottles, so of course she then proceeded to use those bottles.

      It’s also 100% in keeping with her psychology. Compare to her attitude toward clothing. Verona doesn’t do fast-fashion. She prefers to find a small number of items that she really likes, and then she wears the shit out of them for years and only replaces them when she absolutely has to due to them falling apart or becoming uncomfortable. Preferring reusable bottles fits that pattern.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Either you’re looking to solve a problem, or you’re not. Verona seems like the “problem solver” type person… who is honestly bad at half measures — they grate.

        Litter is a solvable problem — I know people that solve it every day. You go out, and you pick up the dirty diaper, or dead cat, and you put it in the garbage.

        I like your last graf about “I like things that last” — it does fit better to her psychology. If she was doing that, one would expect her to be hefting the bottles, maybe banging them against something, etc.

        And, I missed something… she may have been thinking about “save the environment” as something that her mom would understand (as buying a bunch of metal bottles is expensive, and may need to be justified.)

        Like

  12. I hope writing this essay is for the best long-term because it was so really honest and open and, well, I’m a bad describer of things, but I think it’s good to many readers. Let’s be optimistic. Really, anything might go wrong regardless, any small nice thing, but pretty often they don’t and also usually one can’t foretell, so it’s better probably not to dwell on possible problems. Thank you for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. “And, as described above, [those suspicions] were validated by an outside party, years later. I’d like to think Lucy would have something like that, too.”

    It occurs that the earring-Lucy from the Implement rite partially served that purpose, proving to her that her instincts are right and showcasing what it looks like when people are on her side, and when they are not.

    Liked by 1 person

Reply - No Pact spoilers!